Cold Fury

T.M. Goeglein’s first book, COLD FURY, was published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons on July 24, 2012. It was the first installment in the COLD FURY trilogy.

On December 12, 2012, this new cover design was revealed. The paperback was released in June 2013.

COLD FURY Book Cover

Synopsis for "Cold Fury"

Having just turned sixteen, Sara Jane Rispoli’s birthday is anything but sweet.

Returning from her first high school dance, Sara Jane walks into a ransacked home and finds her family missing, the dog maimed and a psychopath in a ski mask who won’t rest until she’s dead. With nothing to go on but a clue hidden in a bust of Frank Sinatra, Sara Jane jumps into her dad’s 1965 Lincoln Continental and drives into the night.

The clues lead her to an ancient, worn notebook that contains a guide to a Chicago hiding in plain sight— safe houses, secret doors, mysterious phone numbers are all suddenly at Sara Jane’s disposal. But it also contains darker, more troubling secrets concerning the Rispoli family, including the revelation that a rare and powerful hereditary trait passed down from the time of Alexander the Great enabled certain male members of the Rispoli clan to become major figures in the Outfit, Chicago’s storied crime syndicate.

Sara Jane realizes the secret-filled notebook is the reason why her family was taken, and why she’s being pursued by three different factions: her turncoat uncle, Police Detective Dotty Smelt, and the huge, shambling freak in the ski mask. Learning of the gift awakens a realization in Sara Jane that she, too, possesses the powerful phenomenon.

With the help of a weight-challenged sidekick, an angry Italian greyhound, and a legion of guardian angel sewer rats, Sara Jane is chased, attacked, and fights back with cold fury, staying one step ahead of her pursuers and circumnavigating the male-centric Outfit while also keeping a growing romance alive.

play button Watch the introduction video to Cold Fury

play button Go on a little video tour of Cold Fury locations with T.M. Goeglein

play button Watch the Cold Fury book trailer!

Cold Fury

Flicker & Burn

The second book in the Cold Fury series, FLICKER & BURN, was released by G.P. Putnam’s Sons on August 20, 2013.


Synopsis for "Flicker & Burn"

The thrill ride that began in Cold Fury kicks into high gear in Flicker & Burn, as the threats to Sara Jane Rispoli come at her from all directions. She continues the desperate search for her missing family, but this time she’s on the run from creepy beings with red, pulsing eyes and ghostly white skin chasing her through the streets of Chicago in black ice cream trucks – they can only be described as Ice Cream Creatures. They're skeletal and ferocious, hell-bent on catching or killing her, but also a weird link to her family, a clue to where they might be and who has them.

While Sara Jane battles these new pursuers, she learns painful lessons about the phenomenon that possesses her, cold fury. At the same time, she’s uncovering buried secrets about the misdeeds of her family – old murders and blood vendettas – that might be connected to the disappearance of her mom, dad, and brother. The mysteries, violence, and constant state of chasing or being chased could be the undoing of her relationship with handsome Max Kissberg. Despite the love growing between them, Sara Jane can’t tell him the truth about her life, and fears for his safety.

Not only do the Ice Cream Creatures display the grisly amputated finger of her mom to prove their viciousness, and not only does Lucky, the Outfit Boss of Bosses, whistle in Sara Jane for a sit-down with deadly consequences, but her gorgeous cousin, Heather Richards, enters the scene, as well. All that matters to Sara Jane is saving her family and keeping everyone she loves alive and safe. But the forces she encounters, both external and the ones crackling inside of her, fight her every step of the way.

play button Watch the Wilson Avenue Bridge Location Tour Video

play button Let T.M. Goeglein show you his inspiration for the Rispoli Family Mausoleum

play button Find out how much trouble the author got for shooting location tour videos for Flicker & Burn

play button Watch the Flicker & Burn book trailer!

Flicker & Burn (Cold Fury, #2)

Embers & Ash

The third and final book in the Cold Fury series, EMBERS & ASH, was released by G.P. Putnam’s Sons on July 10, 2014.

EMBERS & ASH Book Cover

Synopsis for "Embers & Ash"

Sara Jane Rispoli is on the wrong side of the Russian mob, but closer to finding her family than ever. And she's willing to do whatever it takes to finally end this terrible journey even if the price is her own life.

The very cold fury that has seen her through the worst of her troubles is now killing her; she knows the cure, but she can't sacrifice the deadly electricity until she's rescued her family. But when she finally does rescue them, it's not the happy reunion she pictured. And the torment doesn't stop there, not even when she finally discovers Ultimate Power. Only destroying the Outfit completely can end this terrible nightmare.

Old enemies return to seek vengeance, double-crosses abound, and even more mysteries are uncovered as we rocket toward an end no one saw coming.

play button Watch the introduction video to EMBERS & ASH

Embers & Ash (Cold Fury, #3)